You are here: Fairfax County Public Schools > News Releases
If you see this message, you may be using an older browser that does not fully support CSS. Please upgrade your browser. For more information please visit FCPS Using this Site.
Printer-Friendly Version

Friday, April 25, 2014

FCPS to Participate in National Bike to School Day

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) will participate in Bike to School Day on Wednesday, May 7, in an effort to promote physical activity and reduce traffic congestion and pollution near schools.

Students and employees are encouraged to bike or walk to school and work on May 7.  Parents are encouraged to accompany their children to school, and to work with their school and PTA or PTO to assemble bike trains or walking groups for the event.  Schools that are launching a school-wide effort to participate can register online.

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) School Board chair Ilryong Moon encourages county residents to participate in Bike to School Day.  “Bike to School Day enables students to get fresh air and exercise while traveling to and from school,” says Moon.  “It is an excellent way to increase physical activity, lessen pollution and traffic around schools, and have fun getting to and from school.”

Some FCPS schools are planning bike safety assemblies, bike helmet giveaways, valet parking for bikes, distribution of plastic bike charms, and receptions for parents who walk or bike with their children. 

FCPS has compiled information on walking and biking to school, including information on applying for grants and safety tips, on its Safe Routes to School web page.

To date, schools that have registered for the May 7 event include Aldrin Elementary, Armstrong Elementary, Belle View Elementary, Bush Hill Elementary, Coates Elementary, Cunningham Park Elementary, Dogwood Elementary, Dranesville Elementary, Flint Hill Elementary, Greenbriar West Elementary, Haycock Elementary, Herndon Elementary, Hollin Meadows Elementary, Hunters Woods Elementary, Kent Gardens Elementary, Kilmer Middle, Lake Anne Elementary, Louise Archer Elementary, Marshall Road Elementary, Oak View Elementary, Olde Creek Elementary,  Springfield Estates Elementary, Sunrise Valley Elementary, Terraset Elementary, Vienna Elementary, Westbriar Elementary, Westgate Elementary, and Wolftrap Elementary Schools.

Motorists are urged to be vigilant of bikers and pedestrians on Bike to School Day.

Note:  For more information, contact the FCPS Department of Communications and Community Outreach at 571-423-1200.