You are here: Fairfax County Public Schools > News Releases
If you see this message, you may be using an older browser that does not fully support CSS. Please upgrade your browser. For more information please visit FCPS Using this Site.
Printer-Friendly Version

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

All FCPS High Schools Earn Safe Sports School Awards from NATA

All 25 high schools in Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) have earned the Safe Sports School award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association. The award recognizes schools that have taken several steps to keep their student athletes free from injuries. 

The FCPS high schools all earned first team designation, indicating that they acted on all recommended and required elements of a safe sports school. To earn the Safe Sports School award, FCPS high schools met the following requirements:

  • Created a comprehensive athletic health care administrative system to ensure the safety of student athletes.
  • Provided or coordinated pre-participation physical examinations.
  • Promoted safe and appropriate practice and competition facilities.
  • Planned for the selection, fit, function, and proper maintenance of athletic equipment.
  • Provided a permanent, appropriately equipped area to evaluate and treat injured athletes.
  • Developed injury and illness prevention strategies, including protocols for environmental conditions.
  • Provided or facilitated injury intervention.
  • Organized and rehearsed venue-specific emergency plans.
  • Provided or facilitated psychosocial consultation and nutritional counseling and education.
  • Educated athletes and their parents about the potential benefits and risks in sports as well as their responsibilities.
Schools receiving the Safe Sports School award are Annandale, Centreville, Chantilly, Edison, Fairfax, Falls Church, Herndon, Langley, Lee, Madison, Marshall, McLean, Mount Vernon, Oakton, South County, South Lakes, Stuart, West Potomac, West Springfield, Westfield, and Woodson High Schools; Hayfield, Lake Braddock, and Robinson Secondary Schools; and Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology.
Note: For more information, contact John Reynolds at