You are here: Fairfax County Public Schools > News Releases
If you see this message, you may be using an older browser that does not fully support CSS. Please upgrade your browser. For more information please visit FCPS Using this Site.
Printer-Friendly Version

Monday, November 19, 2012

FCPS Students Win Awards at JEA-NSPA Fall Convention

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) student journalists were honored for their work on student publications at the Journalism Education Association (JEA)-National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) fall convention held last weekend in San Antonio.

Publications recognized with NSPA Best of Show awards included:

·         Montpelier, Madison High School, in Yearbook 275-324 pages. Savannah Bentley, Ally Grasso, and Kate Campbell, editors; Francesca Branson, adviser.
·         Odyssey, Chantilly High School, in Yearbook 325 or more pages. Elizabeth Graviano, editor; Mary Kay Downes, adviser.
·         Sentry, Robinson Secondary School, in Junior High Yearbook. Alex Paget and Corey Runkel, editors; Pat Hinman, adviser.
tjTODAY, the student newspaper of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST), was named a NSPA Newspaper Pacemaker Winner in the Broadsheet 9-16 pages category.
Earning Honorable Mentions were: in the Cartooning Award competition, Jessica Tang of McLean High School for her Editorial Cartoon that appeared in The Highlander and Marina Fondin of Oakton High School for her Comic Panel-Strip that appeared in Opus; and in the Design of the Year competition, Hannah Heile and Melanie Ta of McLean High School for their Yearbook Spread for The Clan; and Cathy Keiss and Na He Jeon of Langley High School for their Newspaper Spread for Saxon Scope.
Chantilly High School English and journalism teacher Mary Kay Downes received the Medal of Merit Award for making significant contributions to scholastic journalism.
In the Write-Off competition, Superior ratings were earned by the following FCPS students: Rachel Biderman of Madison High School, Yearbook Cover-Endsheets; Tim White of Robinson Secondary School, Editorial Writing; Mallika Patkar of TJHSST, Editorial Writing; and Shayna Hume of TJHSST, Review Writing. Excellent ratings were earned by the following students: Amirah Ahmad of Langley High School, Feature Writing; Na He Jeon of Langley High School, Computer Design: Infographics; Tahmina Achekzai of TJHSST, Newswriting; and Yena Seo of TJHSST, Sports Writing. Honorable Mentions were awarded to Callie Chute of Madison High School, Yearbook Copy-Caption: Student Life; Aimee Cho of Langley High School, Newswriting; Cathy Keiss of Langley High School, Review Writing; Ian Criman of Robinson Secondary School, Sports Writing; and Jenny Chen of TJHSST, News Editing-Headline Writing.
Note: For more information, contact the FCPS Department of Communications and Community Outreach at 571-423-1200.