You are here: Fairfax County Public Schools > News Releases
If you see this message, you may be using an older browser that does not fully support CSS. Please upgrade your browser. For more information please visit FCPS Using this Site.
Printer-Friendly Version

Wednesday, May 04, 2011

Twenty-Nine FCPS Students Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has named 29 Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) students winners of $2,500 National Merit® Scholarships.  The students are part of a group of approximately 2,500 National Merit® finalists chosen to receive scholarships primarily financed by the NMSC. 

 Winners of the scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are: 

• Jiajun Hoo of Chantilly High School (theoretical physics).
• Kathleen Taylor of Hayfield Secondary School (education).
• Michael Stewart of Lake Braddock Secondary School (chemical research).
• Joohee Choi of Langley High School (medicine).
• Miranda Osterheld of Madison High School (medicine).
• Stephen Swanson of Madison High School (physics).
• Alexander Weech of Madison High School (psychology).
• Kelsey Hopkins of McLean High School (biomedical engineering).
• Catherine Mahoney of Oakton High School (international economics).
• Rachel Mehaffey of Robinson Secondary School (dance-theater).
• Kathleen Atkatsh of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) (biomedical engineering). 
• Zachary Brunt of TJHSST (environmental science-engineering).
• Anna Burke of TJHSST (psychology).
• Elizabeth Denning of TJHSST (law).
• Stephen Eltinge of TJHSST (education—college professor).
• Ziyi Jennifer Fan of TJHSST (medicine).
• Alisha Geldert of TJHSST (biomedical engineering).
• Peter Hansen of TJHSST (undecided).
• Katherine Helmick of TJHSST (graphic design-foreign language).
• Alvina Jiao of TJHSST (international relations).
• Saman Kamgar-Parsi of TJHSST (anthropology).
• Lydia Luu of TJHSST (biomedical engineering).
• Esha Maharishi of TJHSST (computer science).
• Yunan Nie of TJHSST (medicine).
• Andrew Rowberg of TJHSST (economics).
• John Sununu of TJHSST (international relations).
• Max Wang of TJHSST (engineering).
• Christopher Pan of West Springfield High School (engineering).
• Elizabeth Bloxam of Westfield High School (education-history).

Each of the FCPS winners received a scholarship supported by the NMSC’s own funds with the exception of Bloxam and Mahoney, whose scholarships are sponsored by the UPS Foundation, and Taylor, whose scholarship is sponsored by the William Wrigley, Jr., Company.

Each scholarship winner was evaluated on his or her academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay describing interests and goals; and a recommendation from a high school official.  The number of winners named in a state is in proportion to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors.


Note:  For more information, contact the Fairfax County Public Schools Department of Communications and Community Outreach at 571-423-1200.